Qualifying Continues

Qualifying Continues

FORT WORTH, Texas (August 1, 2016) – Day two of qualifying in singles action continued at the 2016 Fort Worth Pro Tennis Classic $25K Women’s Pro Circuit Event on Monday at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center on the campus of TCU.

Twelve of the 16 seeded players remain in the qualifying draw and will play for a spot in the main draw tomorrow morning. The highest seeded player to fall was in the final match of the day that lasted over three hours as No. 4 seed and No. 505 Yuliya Beygelzimer of Ukraine fell to No. 930 Brynn Boren of the United States, 6-2, 2-6, 7-6(5).

The top seeded player, No. 474 Caitlin Whoriskey of the United States, breezed into the third round of qualifying with a 6-2, 6-0 win over Alba Cortina Pou, while the other top seeds had to go the distance to move on. No. 2 seed and No. 478 Usue Arconada of the United States faced a tough battle against local wildcard Marie Norris, but came out on top, 6-4, 3-6, 7-5. No. 3 seed and No. 483 Katie Boulter of Great Britain also needed three sets to pick up the win as she battled Andie K. Daniell of the United Statees to a 6-3, 4-6, 6-3 win.

Nineteen current or incoming collegiate athletes along with former collegiate athletes competed on Monday from 11 different colleges. Reigning NCAA singles champion Danielle Collins once again rolled into the next round as she scored a 6-1, 6-4 victory over No. 11 seed and No. 708 Ingrid Neel of the United States, 6-1, 6-4.

Thirteen of the 16 remaining players hail from the United States, with the other players hailing from Slovakia, Mexico and Great Britain. The final round of qualifying will begin at 9 a.m., on the Bernard J. ‘Tut’ Bartzen Varsity Courts, with the eight winners along with two lucky losers moving into the main draw bracket.

The two qualifying matches in doubles action also took place on Monday with the twin sisters of Alexandra and Kat Facey picking up a 6-3, 6-3 win over local wildcards Norris and Olaya Garrido-Rivas of Spain, while Daniell paired up with Nazari Urbina of Mexico to down Hristina Dishkova of Germany and Akiko Okuda of the United States, 6-0, 6-3, to earn their spot in the main draw.

The Fort Worth Pro Tennis Classic $25K USTA Pro Circuit event will be held at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center on the campus of TCU from July 31-Aug. 7. The main draw portion of the tournament will begin in the afternoon on Aug. 2. Professional athletes from around the world will be competing for $25,000 in prize money, as well as valuable WTA Tour Ranking points.

About the USTA Pro Circuit With approximately 90 tournaments hosted annually throughout the country and prize money ranging from $10,000 to $100,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour-level competition for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. The USTA launched its Pro Circuit in 1979 to provide players with the opportunity to gain professional ranking points, and it has since grown to become the largest developmental tennis circuit in the world, offering nearly $3 million in prize money. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries competed in cities nationwide. Victoria Azarenka, Eugenie Bouchard, John Isner, Madison Keys, Andy Murray, Kei Nishikori, Sam Querrey and Caroline Wozniacki are among today’s top stars who began their careers on the USTA Pro Circuit.

By Abby Norman
Tournament Press Aid

Monday August 1 – RESULTS
Singles – Qualifying Second Round
Caitlin Whoriskey, United States (1), d. Alba Corina Pou, Spain, 6-2, 6-0
Tereza Mihalikova, Slovakia (5), d. Anastasia Evgenyevna Nefedova, Russia, 6-2, 6-2
Ashley Weinhold, United States (10), d. Stephanie Nauta, United States, 6-2, 6-2
Nazari Urbina, Mexico (16), d. Kelsey Laurente, United States, 6-2, 6-3
Jessica Failla, United States (14), d. Steffi Carruthers, Samoa, 6-4, 6-3
Alexa Graham, United States (9), d. Alexandra Facey, United States, 6-3, 6-1
Usue Maitane Arconada, United States (2), d. Marie Norris, United States, 6-4, 3-6, 7-5
Danielle Collins, United States d. Ingrid Neel, United States (11), 6-1, 6-4
Claire Liu, United States (7), d. Jessie Aney, United States, 7-6(4), 6-3
Kylie McKenzie, United States d. Katherine Sebov, Canada (12), 6-3, 7-6(5)
Ronit Yurovsky, United States (13), d. Victoria Flores, United States, 6-1, 6-2
Katie Boulter, Great Britain (3), d. Andie Daniell, United States, 6-3, 4-6, 6-3
Amy Zhu, United States (15), d. Hayley Carter, United States, 6-3, 6-0
Keri Wong, United States d. Lizette Cabrera, Australia (8), 6-3, 1-6, 6-0
Alexandra Sanford, United States (6), d. Giuliana Olmos, Mexico, 6-4, 5-7, 6-3
Brynn Boren, United States d. Yuliya Beygelzimer, Ukraine (4), 6-2, 2-6, 7-6(5)

Doubles – Qualifying
Alexandra Facey/Kat Facey, United States (1), d. Olaya Garrido-Rivas, Spain/Marie Norris, United States, 6-3, 6-3
Andie K. Daniell, United States/Nazari Urbina, Mexico d. Hristina Dishkova, Germany/Akiko Okuda, United States, 6-0, 6-3