Singles Competition Begins at the Fort Worth Pro Tennis Classic

Singles Competition Begins

FORT WORTH, Texas (July 30, 2017) – The 2017 Fort Worth Pro Tennis Classic $25K Women’s Pro Circuit Event kicked-off on Sunday with the opening round of the qualifying draw at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center on the campus of TCU.

All three seeded players that were in action on Sunday were able to move on with all of them capturing their matches in straight sets. No. 1006 Jessica Failla, the No. 7 seed, of the United States kicked things off for the seeded players with a 6-2, 6-3 win over Karla De La Luz Montalvo of Mexico. No. 6 seed and ranked No. 948 in the world, Amy Zhu of the United States downed Samantha Echevarria of Peru 6-3, 6-2, before No. 8 seed and No. 1228 Magdalena Ekert of Poland made quick work of Sharmada Iyer, 6-0, 6-1.

Over half of the athletes that competed in today’s competition were either current or incoming collegiate players, along with recent collegiate graduates representing 18 different colleges. 11 of the players came from colleges in Texas with North Texas being the only college that had all three of its players make it out of the first round.

Two of the four players who were awarded wildcards into qualifying were able to snag a win on the first day. TCU’s Donika Bashota was victorious over Ruby Alyssa Trevino of the United States, 6-1, 6-2. Lilian Poling of the United States was one of the last matches on and was able to easily handle Brianda Rebeca Navarro of the United States, 6-1, 6-1.

The Fort Worth Pro Tennis Classic $25K USTA Pro Circuit event will be held at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center on the campus of TCU from July 30-Aug. 6. Competition will continue starting at 9 a.m., on Monday with qualifying rounds being played until the morning of Aug. 1 and the main draw starting in the afternoon on Aug. 1. Professional athletes from around the world will be competing for $25,000 in prize money, as well as valuable WTA Tour Ranking points.

About the USTA Pro Circuit
With approximately 90 tournaments hosted annually throughout the country and prize money ranging from $15,000 to $125,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour level competition for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. The USTA launched its Pro Circuit 38 years ago to provide players with the opportunity to gain professional ranking points, and it has since grown to become the largest developmental tennis circuit in the world, offering more than $3 million in prize money. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries competed in cities nationwide. Andy Murray, Maria Sharapova, John Isner, Sloane Stephens, Kei Nishikori, Victoria Azarenka, and Sam Querrey and are among today’s top stars who began their careers on the USTA Pro Circuit.

By Abby Norman
Tournament Press Aid

Sunday July 30 – RESULTS
Singles – Qualifying First Round
Kat Facey, United States d. Crystel Butler, United States, 6-0, 6-0
Victoria Emma, United States d. Somer Henry, United States, 6-0, 6-2
Maria Jose Portillo Ramirez, Mexico d. Haley Winton, United States, 6-2, 6-3
Karina Traxler, United States d. Maia Sosa, United States, 6-0, 6-0
Donika Bashota, Sweden d. Ruby Alyssa Trevino, 6-1, 6-2
Jessica Failla, United States (7) d. Karal de la Luz Montalvo, Mexico, 6-2, 6-3
Mackenzie Worsnop, United States d. Kirstie Pathumanun Hearn, United States, 7-5, 6-4
Alexis Thoma, United States d. Emma Pieroni, United States, 6-1, 6-3
Amy Zhu, United States (6) d. Samantha Echevarria, Peru, 6-3, 6-2
Alexandra Yeager, United States d. Palina Dubavets, Belarus, 7-5, 6-3
Kamilla Galieva, Russia d. Felicity Maltby, United States, 6-4, 7-5
Chiara Lommer, United States d. Charity Johns, United States, 6-0, 6-0
Kathleen Derienzo, United States d. Brooke Dennis, United States, 6-2, 6-1
Magdalena Ekert, Poland d. Sharmada Iyer, United States, 6-0, 6-1
Olivia Hauger, United States d. Aarohi Parikh, United States, 6-1, 6-0
Dominique Schaefer, Peru d. Gabriela Tenorio, Brazil, 6-1, 6-2
Katerina Stewart, United States d. Sarah Dvorak, United States, 6-2, 6-1
Jada Robinson, United States d. Janice Shin, United States, 6-4, 6-2
Anastasiya Shestakova, Ukraine d. Federica Denti, Italy, 2-6, 6-2, 6-1
Maria Smith, United States d. Sophie Abrams, United States, 6-1, 6-3
Alexis Keberle, United States d. Chelsea Kung, United States, 6-3, 6-1
Madison Westby, United States d. Ting-Ya Hsu, Taiwan, 6-4, 6-2
Alice Garcia, Brazil d. Rachel Janssen, United States, 6-1, 6-0
Lauren Proctor, United States d. Olaya Garrido-Rivas, Spain, 6-1, 6-3
Lilian Poling, United States d. Brianda Rebeca Navarro, United States, 6-1, 6-1
Rhiann Newborn, United States d. Francesca Denti, Italy, 6-2, 6-3
Salome Devidze, Georgia d. Abigail Desiatnikov, United States, 5-7, 6-0, 7-